News & Events
Current News and Events

City of Euless Volunteers
Receive Prestigious
National Awards

Members of the Euless Citizens Police Academy Alumni Association and the Euless Citizens Fire Academy Alumni Association were honored at an awards ceremony on April 24. The 29 individuals who received a President's Volunteer Service Award earned the recognition by logging 100 or more hours as volunteers for the City of Euless last year.

In addition, the Euless Citizens Police Academy Alumni Association (ECPAAA) received a President's Call to Service Award, which is the highest level of the President's Volunteer Service Award. The nonprofit organization earned this special recognition by accumulating over 5,000 hours of volunteer service per year for the past 15 years. Mayor Linda Martin and Chief of Police Michael Brown presented the special plaque (that bears the President of the United States' signature) to the Board of Directors.

"This year between the Fire and Police Alumni Associations, we will surpass 100,000 hours of volunteer service since 2002," says Lou Baum, ECPAAA volunteer and coordinator of the awards ceremony. "We have some very special citizens in this city who are very service minded."

One shining example of these volunteers is Don Martin. His total number of hours for 2016 is 1,069, which averages to volunteering over 20 hours a week!

Euless should be proud of its volunteers. In terms of the number of hours volunteered each year, it is second in the nation only to the Department of Veteran Affairs.

Created by President George H. W. Bush, the President's Volunteer Service Award (PVSA) is the premier volunteer awards program. It encourages people to live a life of service through presidential gratitude and national recognition.

To receive a PVSA, during a 12-month period individuals must volunteer a minimum of 100 hours for the Bronze Award, a minimum of 250 hours for the Silver Award and a minimum of 500 hours for the Gold Award.

Gold Award Recipients

  • Eric Bessemer
  • Don Martin
  • Tom Salmi
  • Faye Stinneford

Silver Award Recipients

  • Victor Gaunt
  • Pete Jones
  • James Knighton
  • Joyce Maxwell
  • Betty Priddy

Bronze Award Recipients

  • Lou Baum
  • Leah Benoit
  • Roy Deering
  • J. R. Goad
  • Ruben Hernandez
  • Sandi Jones
  • Jerrie Keller
  • Sue Kosec
  • John Luna
  • Dana Nuber
  • Ken Olmstead
  • Betty Overstreet
  • Jud Park
  • David Shanahan
  • Chris Shanahan
  • Barney Snitz
  • Susan Vest
  • Helen Voss
  • Julie Watkins
  • Susanna Whitten

The awards ceremony was a great success. It honored Euless' devoted volunteers and featured Tarrant County District Attorney Sharen Wilson as the keynote speaker.

Congratulations to our valued volunteers. Your support and dedication make our community FabEuless!